Carlisle Chamber Orchestra

Live Music Matters

CCO Affiliated Music Teachers

About Studying Music

Recommendation to Parents

(placeholder)

It's Never Too Late

The study of a musical instrument is enormously satisfying at any age.  There are people at all levels of accomplishment who enjoy making music with others with similar skill levels.  As well as the enjoyment of the music itself, the greater understanding and appreciation of the difficulties involved bring a greater enjoyment of the performance of others.

(placeholder)

Several members of the orchestra are active instrumental teachers and all members are able to provide helpful advice to parents seeking to start their child on private lessons.  In order to make rapid progress it is usually necessary to augment public school teaching with a private instructor, even if the instructor supplied by the public schoot is a specialist in the instrument of choice.  This is true because public school lessons are generally of a group nature and don't offer the teacher enough time to fully satisfy the needs of each student.


We also recommend that parents start the process by first finding that teacher - before purchasing an instrument.  Renting an instrument for a short term to allow a student to get acquainted is not necessarily a bad idea but a teacher has the knowledge and experience to evaluate and appraise an instrument before it is purchased.  This is especially true of used instruments which, if previously used by a student, are likely to have been abused.

Strings:

Piano:

Voice:

Winds:

Other:


Beth Abbate          violin/viola     teoliabbate@verizon.net

Sheryl Lafayette    violin/viola    sheryllaf@yahoo.com

Carol Birdsall         violin          clbirdsall@verizon.net

Angel Valchinov     violin/viola    avalchinov@icloud.com

Susan Jackson        flute       susanajackson@comcast.net

Jennifer Chiapella    flute       bellariajtc@gmail.com

David Chick             oboe       dchick@verizon.net

(placeholder)
(placeholder)

Susan Minor                   Susanp.minor@gmail.com


(placeholder)
(placeholder)

Robin Farnsley          robinfarnsley@yahoo.com

Zachary Ballard           zkballard@gmail.com

Ray Bauwens          rbauwens@gmail.com

Judy Ross                   harp             Jrossharp@aol.com


(placeholder)

Former CCO Guest Artists who also Teach

Piano:

Other:

Shaylor Lindsay          s.m.lindsay@comcast.net

Kathleen Forgac          kathleen.forgac@verizon.net

(placeholder)

Aaron Larget-Caplan  guitar     info@ALCGuitar.com

(placeholder)